Music to Read By

Depending upon my mood, I sometimes quite enjoy listening to some music while I’m deep into a good book. It can’t be just any music, though. Rock music doesn’t really cut it, and R & B tends to get my toes tapping too much. When I settle in for an hour or two of reading, I find that classical, jazz and other instrumentals (movie scores, Sigur Rós, Explosions in the Sky) hit the spot. This morning, I found myself enjoying some great classical tunes from the Romantic period before moving on to Astrud Gilberto and Duke Ellington. I don’t turn the volume particularly loud, but I’m certain it’s doing its part to stimulate that ol’ gray matter.

What do you think? Do you have a particular like of music you enjoy while reading? Do you require silence? Can you read with the television in the background? With the proliferation of media in our world today, it’s harder and harder to shut out the noise.

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Music to Read By

  1. spencermorris

    Weird, but soundtracks for movies have been great soundtracks for reading over the years. I used to love reading to soundtracks for “Trainspotting” and “Moulin Rouge”, and still enjoy reading while listening to the “Everything is Illuminated” soundtrack.

  2. Emily

    I have a hard time listening to anything while reading. Classical probably is best, but it has to be relatively bland, so none of my favorites (Chopin, Brahms, Debussy) or I’ll end up listening to them instead. Jazz is good, but again, it has to be the right jazz. Definitely not Thelonious Monk!

  3. I tend to mix it up. When I’m at the house, and there’s no competing noises, I generally do not listen to music whilst reading. But during my lunch hour at work, in order to block out all the other conversations and television, I tend to crank up the tunes. Anything will do.

Leave a Reply

