And in my own local library news…

The Knox County Public Library is looking at expanding one location and doing away with some branches. As a library user who heavily relies on a branch location that is nice and close to home, I find this a disappointing move, since I’m sure there are a lot of people who feel the same way. It’s remarkably convenient to be able to hop online, put my item on hold, and then transfer it to my branch. For those with limited transportation, it certainly eliminates some options (not that I’m in that situation, but I feel for those that are). It’s yet another example of the economy both bolstering and bringing down our repositories of information.

1 Comment

Filed under libraries

One response to “And in my own local library news…

  1. I like the idea of making a bigger branch downtown, but don’t like the idea of closing any branches. To me, the downtown branch feels rather confined. I’ve gone to events / film showings there, and its always overly-jam-packed. So the idea of expanding to 110,000 SF is great news.

Leave a Reply

